Second DUI Charges in Southwest Ohio
Have You Been Charged with a Second DUI? Call Now! (513) 334-0777
As Butler County and Southwest Ohio DUI attorneys, our commitment to our clients is simply unmatched. We know how frightening it can be to be charged with a crime such as driving under the influence (DUI) or operating a vehicle while impaired (OVI).
Meadows Law Firm has been protecting the rights of those who have been accused of serious crimes and have more than 45 years of combined experience. If this is your second DUI charge, you need representation fast—call us now!
The Higher Penalties for a Second DUI Conviction
In Ohio, the lookback period when evaluating the number of DUI’s has on record is six years. This means that if you were convicted of DUI/OVI at any time within the last six years and are arrested again, you could be facing second DUI charges. The penalties are much more enhanced than those for a DUI the first time around, and you can guarantee that your driving privileges will be stripped for a long period.
These are the minimum penalties one could face for a second DUI:
Blood-alcohol (BAC) less than 0.17%:
- 10 days minimum and up to 6 months in jail
- Possible 18 days house arrest with alcohol monitoring
- Fine of minimum $625 and up to $1, 625
- Mandatory alcohol and/or drug counseling
- Driver’s license suspension, between 1 to 5 years
- Installation of the Ignition Interlock Device
If law enforcement finds that your BAC is higher than the percentage above, you may find that the penalties double. Not to mention that one may face other consequences that include a rise in insurance premiums, troubles with finding and keeping a job, and the impact it can have on your overall reputation. We can help you find the means to sort out all of the confusing and complicated matters when it comes to the criminal justice system.
Put our West Chester DUI lawyers at Meadows Law Firm to work on your case today! We build effective, compelling defenses so that your rights are protected.