Proven Representation

Group Of Attorneys
Group Of Attorneys
Proven Representation

Reduce Penalties With Representation From Our DUI Attorneys

Although a DUI charge can result in a criminal conviction on your record, it can also lead to lead to major penalties that can disrupt your life. According to Ohio State law, a first offense conviction can mean expensive fines, mandatory jail time, and a suspended license for up to three years.

We understand the importance of having someone by your side to get the fair treatment you need. With more than 45 years of combined experience, our skilled legal team is prepared to stand up for you in court.

Contact Meadows Law Firm for your free consultation.

What Are The DUI/OVI Penalties In Ohio?

Our investigation process can help to determine if your rights were violated during the initial arrest. Whether the appropriate actions were taken by the police or your sobriety test was conducted incorrectly, we examine every aspect of your case in order to find a way to get the charges dropped or have your case dismissed.

The potential penalties for each level of offense are as follows:

First-Offense DUI

  • Jail: 3 days to 6 months
  • Fines and penalties: $375 to $1,075
  • License suspension: 6 months to 3 years
  • No ignition interlock device required

Second-Offense DUI

  • Jail: 10 days to 1 year
  • Fines and penalties: $525 to $1,625
  • License suspension: 1 to 5 years
  • No ignition interlock device required

Third-Offense DUI

  • Jail: 30 days to 1 year
  • Fines and penalties: $850 to $2,750
  • License suspension: 1 to 10 years
  • Ignition interlock device required

Fourth-Offense DUI

  • Jail: 60 days to 1 year
  • Fines and penalties: $1.350 to $10,500
  • License suspension: 3 years to permanent
  • Ignition interlock device required

Can I Drive After A DUI Conviction?

Most states tend to punish driving under the influence (DUI) offenders particularly harshly. Ohio is no different. After merely an arrest for a DUI, the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) often imposes an Ohio Administrative License Suspension, which prohibits people from legally driving on public roads. This penalty can be hard on those who depend on their cars for school, work, and medical appointments.

However, people do have a way of working around the suspension. A good West Chester DUI attorney can help people convicted of a DUI get “limited driving privileges,” while the case is pending. These may be granted to 1st-time offenders or people who had a relatively low blood alcohol content (BAC).

Factors Determining Your Ability To Drive

After conviction, whether or not you can drive depends on a number of factors. If you are sentenced to serve up to 6 months in prison, you will not be able to drive during that time. Likewise, your license will be suspended for 1 to 3 years, and you won’t have any driving privileges during the first 15 days after conviction (30 days if you refused a BAC test).

If the judge gives you a lighter sentence, you may be able to drive with an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in your car. You may also need to drive with restricted plates, yellow or red plates that must be on any vehicle you drive.

If you have subsequent DUI convictions, you are less likely to get a lenient sentence, which means you could lose your driving privileges altogether. Likewise, for a second DUI in less than 10 years, you could get your license suspended for up to 7 years.

Let Our Criminal Defense Lawyers Protect Your Rights

Our Butler County and Southwest OH DUI defense attorneys at Meadows Law Firm have been included on the Super Lawyers list for three straight years. We are dedicated to winning your case and with 45+ years of experience, we have a history of success doing just that.

For a complimentary consultation, call us at 513-454-6746 today!