Defending Yourself From Domestic Violence Charges
With decades of criminal defense experience, our award-winning domestic violence attorneys are well-qualified to represent your case. We understand how severe domestic violence charges are treated in the state of Ohio, which is why we act quickly to defend your reputation and freedom after an accusation is made.
Our team places emphasis on understanding your case to the fullest extent so we can craft a powerful strategy for an aggressive defense. Domestic violence is a serious crime, which is why you need a seasoned lawyer to advocate for your best interests.
Get started on your free consultation today! Contact us.
What Is Domestic Violence?
Ohio courts define domestic violence as a crime in which an individual knowingly or recklessly causes or attempts to physically harm a family or household member, or threatens to inflict imminent harm. Essentially, any form of physical harm, even in the form of a threat, to cohabitants of a household is unlawful and will be charged as a crime.
Even if you believe you were wrongly charged, there is too much at stake to wait around for your trial. Your personal, family and professional life, as well as your freedom, are on the line. You need our resilient domestic violence attorney on your side.
You may face a misdemeanor or felony domestic violence charge.
Misdemeanors are considered to be less severe than felonies, and typically result in a jail sentence of less than one year. Penalties include:
- First-degree misdemeanor: Up to six months in jail and/or a fine up to $1,000
- Second-degree misdemeanor: Up to 90 days in jail and/or fine up to $750
- Third-degree misdemeanor: Up to 60 days in jail and/or a fine up to $500
Felonies are seen as much more serious and can result in a jail sentence of one year or more. You may face:
- Fifth-degree felony: Six to 12 months in prison and a fine up to $2,500
- Fourth-degree felony: Six to 18 months in prison and a fine up to $5,000
- Sixth-degree felony: Nine months to three years in prison and a fine up to $10,000
You Need Our Domestic Violence Lawyer Now
At the Meadows Law Firm, we take your domestic violence case seriously. Our firm believes clients are innocent until proven guilty and treats them as such. However, prosecutors and district attorneys are very skilled at utilizing state resources in their favor to pursue a strong conviction and penalty. They will devise a grandeur argument to prove your guilt, which is why our aggressive lawyers fight back even stronger.
Timeliness is key for your domestic violence case; it is urgent that you contact us immediately so we can proactively work on your case. The longer you wait, the more time prosecutors can utilize to build their case against you.
Call our reputable team at 513-454-6746 for your free defense consultation today.