DUI Causing Injury Charges in Butler County & Southwest Ohio
Get Legal Assistance from Our West Chester, OH DUI Attorney
While getting a DUI is stressful and overwhelming enough, being arrested for a DUI causing injury can be downright frightening, resulting in stricter penalties and permanent mark on your criminal record. If you are accused of vehicular assault or aggravated vehicular assault, our team of West Chester DUI defense lawyers is dedicated to helping your protect your rights, reputation, and most importantly, your freedom. With over 45 years of collective experience, we possess the comprehensive knowledge of state laws and court proceedings in order to get your charges reduced or have your case entirely dismissed.
Difference Between Vehicular Assault vs Aggravated Vehicular Assault
According to Ohio Revised Code § 2903.08, there are two types of vehicular assault offenses – simple vehicular assault and aggravated vehicular assault. Simple vehicular assault refers to a scenario where one or more other individuals or unborn children are injured because of the negligence and reckless of another driver. An aggravated vehicular assault is a scenario where someone is operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs and causes serious bodily injury to another person or another’s unborn child. Aggravated vehicular assault is considered a third-degree felony on the first offense, which is punishable by a prison sentence between nine months and five years and a fine of up to $10,000.
However, the offense can be upgraded to a second-degree felony if one of the following prerequisites are met:
- Your license was suspended when the offense occurred
- You have a prior vehicular assault or DUI with serious bodily injury conviction
- You have been previously convicted of another traffic-related assault, manslaughter, or homicide
- You were convicted of three or more prior OVI offenses within the last six years
- You have a second or subsequent DUI felony conviction
- You have three or more convictions for a combination of any of the violations above
A second-degree felony is punishable by a prison sentence between two and eight years and a fine of up to $15,000. A repeat offender can have their licensed revoked.
Let Us Fight For You
At The Meadows Law Firm, we can conduct a thorough investigation and analyze evidence gathered by police to devise an aggressive and personalized defense strategy for you. With the penalties this serious, it’s imperative to retain our legal representation so you can get your life back on track.