What Fines Should I Expect to Pay for a DUI/OVI?

In Ohio, you can expect that your DUI or OVI charges may be punished by heavy fines. The amount of fines you may be ordered to pay can vary greatly, depending on the circumstances of your DUI/OVI case. Factors such as prior DUIs, your blood alcohol content (BAC), and refusal to take a breath or blood test may affect your sentence and the fines you will pay.

Fines for a First DUI/OVI in 10 Years

The amount of time since a prior DUI/OVI charge can affect your fines. If you havenever had a DUI/OVI conviction, or it has been more than 10 years since your last conviction, you will be granted a smaller fine. There are also a number of fees that you may have to pay, depending on what measures you are ordered to undergo.

Fines and Fees:

  • Fines: $375 to $1,075
  • Driver’s License Reinstatement Fee: $475
  • Ignition Interlock Device Fees: Installation is $200 to $300, and monthly maintenance is $100 to $200
  • Driver’s Intervention Program Fees: $350 to $475

Fines for a Second DUI/OVI in 10 Years

If your previous DUI/OVI conviction was more recent than 10 years ago, you may be subjected to higher fines and may need to pay the fees of more penalties.

Fines and Fees:

  • Fines: $525 to $1,625
  • Driver’s License Reinstatement Fee: $475
  • Ignition Interlock Device Fees: Installation is $200 to $300, and monthly maintenance is $100 to $200
  • Driver’s Intervention Program Fees: $350 to $475
  • House Arrest with Electronic Monitoring (HAEM): Installation is $175, and the daily fee is $10 to $20 per day
  • Continuous Alcohol Monitoring: Installation is $175, and the daily fee is $10 to $20 per day

Fines for a Third DUI/OVI in 10 Years

Your third DUI/OVI charge within 10 years is the most serious misdemeanor DUI/OVI charge in Ohio. Subsequent DUI/OVI charges are considered felonies.

Fines and Fees:

  • Fines: $850 to $2,750
  • Driver’s License Reinstatement Fee: $475
  • Ignition Interlock Device Fees: Installation is $200 to $300, and monthly maintenance is $100 to $200
  • Driver’s Intervention Program Fees: $350 to $475
  • House Arrest with Electronic Monitoring (HAEM): Installation is $175, and the daily fee is $10 to $20 per day
  • Continuous Alcohol Monitoring: Installation is $175, and the daily fee is $10 to $20 per day
  • Forfeiture of your vehicle, or the value of the vehicle in fines if the title is transferred before conviction

Your DUI or OVI charges may greatly affect your future. Our experienced, aggressive West Chester DUI/OVI lawyers are ready to help you start your defense. The Meadows Law Firm will do everything in our power to protect you from harsh penalties that DUI/OVI convictions can bring. Learn how we can help with your case.

Contact our offices today to request a complimentary consultation. Call (513) 334-0777.

Categories:

Let's Fight For Your Rights

    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
      Please enter your phone number.
    • This isn't a valid email address.
      Please enter your email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.
Put Us On Your Side