More Changes to the Ohio OVI Laws - Ohio DUI laws undergo changes!
As of September 30, 2008 Ohio Senate Bill 17 went into effect instituting many changes to Ohio's already tough OVI/DUI law! While the changes for a first time offender experienced little change, persons charged with an OVI who have had a prior conviction for OVI within 6 years face tougher penalties.
Specifically, if convicted of a 2nd offense within 6 years, the court may
require a continuous alcohol monitoring device ("CAM," a device
worn around the ankle that will notify probation if you ingest alcohol),
in addition to mandatory incarceration (JAIL), the court is required to
order an alcohol/drug assessment and any recommended treatment will be
mandatory. Finally, if the court grants driving privileges during the
mandatory 1-5 year suspension, privileges are not available for the first
45 days and once granted, the restricted license plates (aka "scarlet
letter" or "party plates") AND an ignition interlock device
(breathylizer) are mandatory.
Sentencing for 3rd offenders within 6 years also was stiffened as well as some of the other alcohol related offenses.
If you have found yourself charged with an Ohio OVI / Ohio DUI charge, it is extremely important that you seek the advice of a competent OVI lawyer. Your DUI lawyer should be not only be familiar with the current law as it applies to sentencing, your Ohio DUI attorney should also be able to thoroughly and properly assess your case to know what your available defenses are.
Not everyone charged with an OHIO OVI / Ohio DUI has to be convicted. As a matter of fact, many of the Ohio DUI / OVI charges are very defendable if you have a qualified Attorney.